PPG在全球率先实施S/4分散式EWM解决方案

Westernacher favicon

客户

PPG

行业

化工

主要技术

SAP S/4HANA,
SAP EWM

系统上线

12/2019

国家

法国

作为利用数字化提高运营效率的一项创举,涂料供应商PPG工业公司开始为其在欧洲建立的最大配送中心之一改造仓库管理平台。通过与威内源咨询公司的合作,法国PPG AC启动了全球首个SAP S/4分散式EWM解决方案实施项目,威内源利用其最新创新成果RF UI5附加组件带来超凡用户体验,让PPG公司受益匪浅。
环环相扣的变化
PPG是一家全球性涂料公司,致力于提供创新、可持续的透明涂料、油漆和密封剂解决方案。PPG公司拥有开发尖端技术的悠久传统,业务遍及全球70多个国家的地区,是该领域公认的领导者。法国PPG AC过去一直寻求用一个现代化、集成化、可配置的WMS平台来取代高度定制化的传统WMS解决方案。新平台必须与PPG公司的SAP路线图一致,并能提供一个满足以下要求的解决方案:
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
  • 管理仓库内的不同操作活动和具体多样的PPG仓库流程,包括越库配送、电子商务和内部公司间的库存转移;
  • 提高当前物流流程的效率,例如优化收货和上架流程,以及简化复杂的客户退货流程;
  • 满足PPG公司广大客户群当前和未来的需求。
随着透明度和自动化程度的提高,新的流线型平台改变了仓库作业模式,实现了效率最大化。拣货操作员的作业效率提高了5%,在人体工程学方面也得到了改进。PPG公司利用威内源的最新创新成果RF UI5附加组件优化用户体验,始终让用户处于技术创新的最前沿。该应用程序在入库、出库和内部流程中应用引导式UI5屏幕,以保证优化效率。RF UI5与SAP EWM相结合,可实时跟踪仓库操作。借助UI5附加组件,可以轻松地针对未来的新流程做出微调。
图1:威内源RF UI5应用程序 – 数据输入过程
转移至统一平台
从项目启动之初,法国PPG AC就很清楚,他们的目标是提高仓库运营的流程自动化程度和整体可视性。为实现这一目标,法国PPG AC决定舍弃陈旧的、彼此独立的仓库作业流程,转向高效、透明、统一的新流程,其中SAP S/4分散式EWM解决方案就是集成化平台的一部分。PPG公司迫切希望改善对仓门分配和管理的管理监控,以及实现库存放置和退货分类的自动化。除了获取批次报告,PPG公司还希望能够跟踪仓库内的托盘移动和退货历史。
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
图2:PPG公司是公认的创新、色彩及可持续发展领域的领导者
法国PPG AC之所以选择威内源,是因为威内源拥有成功实施SAP EWM解决方案的丰富经验,并且在仓库管理领域,威内源是公认的值得信赖的合作伙伴和开拓者。据Remi Luong表示,他们对威内源非常有信心。
从一开始,威内源咨询就带给我们非常积极的体验。指派给我们的顾问对EWM非常熟悉,在时间有限的情况下,他们长时间在现场工作,并且随时待命,积极开放地帮助我们解决业务问题。
Remi Luong, PPG公司高级IT项目经理
精简铸就成功
该项目给法国PPG AC的仓库带来了许多显著的好处,包括优化资源的可用性和利用率以及实现实时操作的可视性。全面的驱动因素可提高效率、提升库存可视性、实现最高的客户满意度。S/4分散式EWM平台具有以下特点:
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
  • 优化所有流程中的资源和任务,删除人工工作分配步骤,同时实现有效的智能任务优先级排序,确保在正确的时间和正确的地点执行正确的工作任务;
  • 完善和加强装箱规划,按照特定客户要求优化拣货工序,并根据产品尺寸优化托盘装填,以实现利用率最大化;
  • 调整拣货和补货操作,消除履行小组的等待时间;
  • 更好地跟踪仓库库存和管理ABC周期盘点;
  • 改善客户服务,以支持采购流程中出现的迟来的定制请求、紧急订单履行请求及特殊要求;
  • 通过减少收货错误和加快退货的使用决策过程,简化和优化内部公司间的操作以及生产、入库和退货操作;
  • 利用语音拣货功能提高仓库拣货效率。
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4 Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG—a world first.
图3:威内源RF UI5应用程序 – 列表屏幕选择过程

分享故事

让我们携手共进。

Get in touch with our experts.
Stay informed.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed about our latest insights.

使用cookies

使用本网站即表示您同意我们使用cookies。有关我们使用的cookies以及如何删除或封锁它们的更多信息,请阅读我们的cookies通知

与我们的专家联系。
掌握最新动态。

请订阅我们的通讯,随时了解我们的最新见解。

World first for PPG with S/4 decentral EWM.

Westernacher favicon
Customer
PPG
Industry
Chemicals
Key technologies
SAP S/4HANA,
SAP EWM
Go-live
12/2019
Country
France
As part of the initiative to derive operational efficiencies leveraging digitalization, coatings company PPG set out to transform the warehouse management platform at one of their largest European distribution centers. In partnership with Westernacher Consulting, PPG AC France embarked on the world’s first SAP S/4 Decentralized EWM implementation, and now benefits from the superb user experience with one of Westernacher’s latest innovations, the RF UI5 add-on.
Ring the changes.
PPG are a global coatings company that manufacture innovative and sustainable solutions for transparencies, paints and sealants. With a long-standing tradition of developing cutting-edge technologies and operations in more than 70 countries around the world, PPG are a leader in their field. PPG AC France were seeking to replace a highly customized legacy WMS solution with a modern, integrated and configurable WMS platform that would align with PPG’s SAP roadmap as well as deliver a solution that would:
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
  • manage the different operational activities of the warehouse and the specific and diverse PPG warehouse processes including cross docking, e-commerce and intercompany transfers
  • improve the efficiency of the current logistics processes, such as receiving and putaway optimization as well as simplifying the complex customer returns process
  • meet the current and future needs of PPG’s wide customer base
With increased transparency and automation, the new streamlined platform has transformed warehouse operations and maximized efficiency. There has been a 5% increase in operations efficiency and ergonomic improvements of operators for picking. PPG have also put their users at the forefront in optimizing the user experience with one of Westernacher’s latest innovations, the RF UI5 add-on. The application ensures optimized efficiency through guided UI5 screens in inbound, outbound and internal processes. RF UI5 works with SAP EWM, allowing for tracking of warehouse operations in real time. Easy access with UI5 enables fine-tuning for new processes in the future.
Fig 1: Westernacher RF UI5 Application – Data entry process.
Move to a harmonized platform.

From the onset of the engagement, PPG AC France were clear that they wanted to increase process automation and overall visibility across their warehouse operations. To attain this goal, PPG AC France decided to transform their old, segregated warehouse processes into efficient, transparent and harmonized ones with SAP S/4 Decentralized EWM as part of an integrated platform.


In particular, PPG wanted to improve management and monitoring of dock assignments and administrations and automate stock placement and classification of the returned stock. In addition to batch reporting, PPG also aimed to enable tracking of the history of pallet movements and returned stock in the warehouse.

Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
Fig 2: PPG are a recognized leader in innovation, color and sustainability.

PPG AC France selected Westernacher based on their track record in successful delivery of SAP EWM implementations and their recognized position as a trusted partner and pioneer in the warehouse management sector. Their confidence was well placed, according to Remi Luong.

Our experience with Westernacher Consulting has been a very positive one from the start. The assigned consultants were very knowledgeable about EWM, spent a lot of time on-site and were always available and open-minded to answering business requests with time constraint.
Remi Luong, Senior IT Project Manager at PPG
Streamlined for success.
The project has brought a number of significant benefits to the PPG AC France warehouse, including optimization of resource availability and utilization and real-time operational visibility. The overall drivers were to increase efficiency, improve stock visibility and deliver to maximum customer satisfaction levels. The S/4 Decentralized EWM platform has delivered:
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4HANA Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG.
  • Resource and task optimization across all processes to remove manual work allocation and effective smart task prioritization to ensure the right work at the right time in the right place
  • Improved and enhanced cartonization planning to optimize picking for specific customer requirements and to optimize pallet filling to achieve maximum utilization based on product dimensions
  • Aligned picking and replenishment operations to remove wait times for fulfilment team
  • Better inventory tracking of the warehouse and management of ABC cycle counting
  • Customer service improvements to support late customizations, urgent order fulfilment and special requests with purchase processes
  • Streamlined and optimized intercompany, production, inbound and returns operations by reducing errors in receiving and speeding up the usage decision process for returns
  • Pick by Voice enhanced picking efficiency in the warehouse
Westernacher Customer Success Story: SAP S/4 Decentralized EWM implementation at PPG—a world first.
Fig 3: Westernacher RF UI5 Application – List screen selection process

Share this story

Let's work together.

Get in touch with our experts.
Stay informed.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed about our latest insights.