加利福尼亚钢工业公司成功实施SAP TM

Westernacher favicon

客户

加利福尼亚钢
工业公司

行业

钢铁制造

主要技术

SAP TM

系统上线

01/2019

国家

美国

美国钢铁制造商加利福尼亚钢工业公司(CSI)致力于提高其整个供应链的自动化和整体可视化程度。他们遇到了人工合并货载和铁路运输分配等问题。CSI与威内源合作,成功完成了SAP TM的实施,并取得了包括自动化规划、招标、货运发票和铁路运输分配在内的成果。

Westernacher Reference - California Steel Industries

开启自动化旅程

加利福尼亚钢工业公司(CSI)是美国西部领先的扁轧钢制造商。他们在该地区生产的扁轧钢产品类型最为广泛。CSI位于美国加州丰塔纳,是美国西海岸唯一的钢铁供应商,拥有超过200万吨的钢铁生产能力,拥有五个产品线——热轧、酸洗和涂油、镀锌、冷轧钢板和电阻焊管。

2019年1月,CSI和威内源利用SAP运输管理(TM)成功实施了一个项目并推动其上线。

从开始合作时,CSI就很明确他们希望提高其供应链的自动化和整体可视化程度。CSI遇到了用户需要投入大量时间执行人工合并货载的问题。由于不同货载量之间的差别,这些货载量通常无法进行优化或者数量并不准确。此外,他们还需要人工执行铁路运输分配的任务。他们采用电子表格来处理数据,导致出现了许多关于准确分配车辆任务的错误。

他们难以准确地维护运费费率,并且向财务部门发送费率的过程也很繁琐,需要多个用户执行人工检验,这通常会导致在手动输入运费付款条目时出现错误。此外,CSI在提供透明度方面还面临着不少挑战,完全缺乏对之前费率的可视化,也无法向承运人分配即期费率。

克服关键的业务挑战

CSI有意实施一种新的TMS解决方案,通过该方案自动规划线圈和管道,以便优化卡车和铁路运输的货载。虽然CSI的目标是让货运支付、铁路运输分配和预测以及卡车订单招标实现自动化,但该解决方案仍然需要考虑到每件产品的重量和尺寸。

该合作始于威内源与CSI展开的需求收集会议。在这次活动中,威内源确定了CSI的痛点及其必须得到满足的需求。在本次需求收集会议之后,CSI采用了与SAP TM一致的标准化业务流程方法。最终的TM解决方案不但能够确保这些系统完全实现自动化,还能够确保这些系统极其准确地运行。

创新思维提供创新解决方案

除了标准功能之外,该项目实施过程还应用了创新的增强功能。具体而言,这些被应用于该解决方案的增强功能现已计划应用于圆筒型产品。其中包括线圈和管道项目,标准SAP系统虽然没有考虑到这些项目的具体情况,但已通过标准的不兼容性和业务规则框架Plus来实现其功能。CSI积极参与了整个过程中,讨论并承担了与这个附加组件的设计相关的职责,推动制定了最终解决方案

未来不断支持

通过用户培训和用户接受度测试,不断向参与用户提供支持,进一步证明威内源对CSI这个合作伙伴的承诺。这些会议有助于向用户介绍该实施项目对他们的好处,从而消除其转向新的TM解决方案的心理障碍。CSI在对这个上线项目的总体反馈中指出,它是一个“惊人的成就”。

CSI现在实现了规划、招标、货运发票、铁路车分配和预测等方面的自动化。我们的合作伙伴CSI显著提升了系统的准确性,实现了从端到端的整个运输过程的完全可视化,这一成就让我们深感自豪。

分享故事

让我们携手共进。

CSI on the right track with SAP TM.

Westernacher favicon
Customer
California Steel Industries
Industry
Steelmaking
Key expertise
SAP TM
Go-live
01/2019
Country
United States
American steelmaker California Steel Industries (CSI) looked to increase automation and overall visibility across their supply chain. They experienced issues such as manual consolidating loads and rail car assignments. Partnered with Westernacher, CSI completed a successful SAP TM implementation and achieved results including automated planning, tendering, freight invoicing, and rail car assignment.
Westernacher Reference - California Steel Industries
Starting out on the journey to automation.
California Steel Industries (CSI) is the leading manufacturer of flat-rolled steel in the Western US. They produce the widest range of flat-rolled steel products in the region. Located in Fontana, California, CSI is the only steel supplier on the West Coast capable of producing over two million tons of steel, representing five product lines: hot-rolled, pickled and oiled, galvanized, cold-rolled sheet, and electric resistance welded pipe.
In January 2019, CSI and Westernacher completed a successful implementation and went live with SAP Transportation Management (TM).
From the onset of the engagement, CSI was clear they wanted to increase automation and overall visibility across their supply chain. CSI experienced issues where users were spending hours manually consolidating loads. Often, these loads were not optimized or accurate due to the variations between them. In addition, rail car assignments were also performed manually. Data was contained in spreadsheets, leading to many errors occurring in exact car assignments.
There were inaccuracies in maintaining rates for freight costs and the process of sending rates to the finance department was tedious, requiring manual checking from multiple users, which regularly resulted in manual entry errors in freight cost payments. CSI additionally faced challenges in providing transparency, suffering with a total lack of visibility of prior rates and an inability to distribute spot rates to its carriers.
Overcoming the key business challenges.
CSI was interested in implementing a new TMS solution that automated the planning of coils and pipes for optimal loading of trucks and rail cars. While CSI aimed to automate freight payment, rail car assignment and forecasting, as well as tendering of truck orders, the solution also needed to take into consideration the weight and dimensions of each of their products.
The engagement started with a requirement gathering session with CSI. During this activity, pain points and must-have necessities from the business were determined. A standardized approach to business processes in alignment with SAP TM was employed as a result of this requirement gathering session. The final TM solution has not only ensured that the systems are now completely autonomous, but they are also extremely accurate.
Innovative thinking offers innovative solutions.
Beyond the standard offering, innovative enhancements were applied as part of the implementation. Specifically, enhanced capabilities were applied to the solution to now plan for cylindrical products. These included items such as coils and pipes that the standard SAP system does not account for but was achieved through standard incompatibilities and Business Rule Framework Plus. Throughout the process, CSI was very involved and mutually shared responsibilities during discussions related to the design of this add-on, adding to the total ownership of the final solution.
Continued support for the future.
Further demonstrating its commitment to CSI as a partner, ongoing support was provided through user training and user acceptance testing to involve users. Taking part in these sessions, users were introduced to the benefits of the implementation for their roles which helped to ease the transition to the new TM solution. The overall feedback from CSI on the go-live was that it was an “amazing success”.
CSI is now reaping the benefits of automated planning, tendering, freight invoicing, and rail car assignment and forecasting. We are proud to see our partner CSI achieving significantly improved system accuracy and full visibility across the entire transportation process from end to end.

Share this story

Let's work together.

Get in touch with our experts.
Stay informed.

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay informed about our latest insights.